Posted by: innerpilgrimage | November 14, 2010

Thirteen Months of Food Abstinence

Holiday Eating Season Countdown: 49 Days

      Though I’m not getting a coin for today’s abstinence, I’m pretty content. My Higher Power has been amazing in making food abstinence a reality. Not sure where my body will land on the scale, when I will stop losing weight, but it’s really not in my hands. I’ve released over 100 lbs. since October 2009, and I weigh as much as I did in High School.

      So, to recap:

      October 27, 2009: 267 lbs, by a doctor’s scale.
      November 30, 2009: 253 lbs. by a scale at a store.
      December 21, 2009: 246 lbs. by the scale I currently use.
      January 14, 2010: 232 lbs. by the scale I currently use.
      February 14, 2010: 221 lbs. by the scale I currently use.
      March 14, 2010: 214.4 lbs. by the scale I currently use.
      April 14, 2010: 201.8 lbs. by the scale I currently use.
      May 14, 2010: 195.6 lbs. by the scale I currently use.
      June 14, 2010: 191.8 lbs. by the scale I currently use. Confirmed by the doctor’s scale.
      July 14, 2010: 181.4 lbs. by the scale I currently use.
      August 14, 2010: 178.0 lbs. by the scale I currently use. I am at “goal weight”, within 5 lbs. up or down of 175 lbs.
      September 14, 2010: 180.0 lbs. by the scale I currently use.
      October 14, 2010: 170.6 lbs. by the scale I currently use.
      November 14, 2010: 164.8. lbs. by the scale I currently use.

      I can’t really think of much to write about today. Though I’m pleased, my self-esteem isn’t hingeing on this number. Of course, the ideal weight concept is to vague, I don’t really know where I theoretically should sit. I still have bad body image, so I’m going to be listening to an OA Conference Speaker workshop which is available online. If I can’t look at myself and see a difference after releasing 100 lbs., if I disbelieve that the pants I’m wearing are the size they are, if I keep intuitively thinking about plus-sized shops every time I consider buying new clothes? There’s a disconnect.
      My name is Jess, and I am a food addict.

Responses

  1. Hi Jess,

    Thank You for sharing your success. I am new to OA and these are the kind of stories that inspire me. I also appreciate your honesty about still having body image issues. Best of luck to you, and god bless.

    Joe

    • Hi, Joe, and Welcome Home!

      Thank you for your really kind comment. I try to be as honest as possible with this journal. When I first started out, I looked around for other OA journals and found them to be very helpful to me. Maintaining this journal helps my recovery and abstinence. If you look on the sidebar, there are some great links to other OAers–a few are guys, too! Life in OA from a man’s perspective I think is really valuable.


Leave a Reply

Categories

